Skip to content
TimTalksCoffee.com — coffee gear, honestly reviewed TimTalksCoffee.com

Kicking Horse Coffee Review: Is it Kick-Ass Coffee without the BS?

Tim Talks Coffee is reader-supported. When you buy through links on this page we may earn a commission, at no extra cost to you. It never changes the score.
Kick Ass Dark Roast
8.3/10Best organic supermarket coffee

Certified organic and Fairtrade at supermarket prices, with a roast date on the bag — and nothing else disclosed.

Buy it if

  • You want organic and Fairtrade without paying specialty prices
  • A roast date on the bag matters to you
  • You buy coffee where you buy groceries

Skip it if

  • You want origin, process or varietal on the label
  • You prefer light roasts with acidity
  • You buy whole bean only — several blends are ground-only
Check price $7.99Amazon, verified 12 Aug 2026

Kicking Horse is the rarest thing in supermarket coffee: certified organic, certified Fairtrade, and dated. It is also completely silent about where the beans come from or how they were processed. What you are buying is a certification, not a coffee, and at this price that is a reasonable trade.

Kick Ass or Cliff Hanger?

Kicking Horse’s range splits cleanly by brew method, and picking the wrong one is the most common complaint about the brand.

This product

Kicking Horse Coffee, Kick Ass Dark Roast, Ground

$7.99

Dark, ground, 10 oz. Built for drip and French press, and the blend the brand is known for.Check price

Buy this instead if you pull shots

Kicking Horse Cliff Hanger Espresso, Whole Bean

$36.99 · 2.2 lb whole bean

Medium roast, whole bean, developed for pressure. Kick Ass pulls harsh and ashy as espresso; this is what the brand makes for that job.Check price

Ground coffee is a different productKick Ass in a 10 oz ground bag loses the CO₂ that builds crema within days of opening. If you own a grinder, the whole-bean blends are the only ones worth buying — and Kicking Horse does not make this one in whole bean at that size.

Where the 8.3 comes from

Five criteria. Kicking Horse wins the things a supermarket shopper checks and loses the things a specialty buyer checks.

Certification9.5USDA Organic and Fairtrade, audited rather than asserted. Almost nothing else at supermarket scale carries both.
Freshness signals8.5A roast date on every bag, which is rare at this price and the single clearest signal that a roaster is turning stock over.
Sourcing disclosure5.0No processing method, no varietal, no harvest year, and origin given only as a continent. A specialty roaster at the same price tells you all four.
Cup quality8.0Clean and consistent, heavily roast-forward. You are tasting the roast rather than the coffee, which is a choice rather than a fault.
Value8.5Organic and Fairtrade at commodity prices. The 10 oz bag sizes flatter the shelf price more than the price per ounce.

Specifications

OriginIndonesia and South America
ProcessNot disclosed
Varietal100% Arabica
HarvestNot disclosed
CertificationUSDA Organic, Fairtrade, Kosher

What you are actually paying for

The certifications are the product. USDA Organic and Fairtrade both require audits and both cost the roaster money, and Kicking Horse carries them across the entire range rather than on one hero blend. For a shopper who wants those guarantees without visiting a specialty roaster, there is very little competition.

What you do not get is any information about the coffee itself. Look at the spec table: process, varietal and harvest are all absent, and origin is given as two continents. That is not unusual at this price — it is what lets a roaster keep the blend consistent while the market moves — but it is the reason this scores 8.3 rather than higher. You are buying a certification and a roast date, and both are worth having.

What we like

  • Organic and Fairtrade certified, not merely claimed
  • Roast date printed on every bag
  • Widely stocked and consistently priced
  • 7,439 owner ratings on this blend alone

What to know

  • No processing method, varietal or harvest year
  • This blend is sold ground, not whole bean
  • Dark roast flattens most origin character
  • 10 oz bags — smaller than the price suggests

What else to consider

For espresso

Cliff Hanger Espresso

Whole bean

Medium roast developed for pressure, sold whole bean in 2.2 lb bags.Check price

For decaf

Kicking Horse Swiss Water Decaf

$36.49

Swiss Water process rather than solvent, which keeps more of the sugars that build body.Check price

The category

Best espresso beans compared

8 bags

Where Kicking Horse sits against roasters that do publish process and origin.Bean guide

Our method

How we scored it

This review is editorially researched. We worked from the label copy and certification marks on Kicking Horse’s Amazon listings across the range, the owner record for each blend, and price and availability confirmed on 12 August 2026. Three blends we previously linked to are no longer sold and have been replaced. We have not cupped these beans ourselves and do not claim to have; where the roaster discloses nothing, the spec table says so.

Certification25%
Cup quality25%
Sourcing disclosure25%
Value25%
8.3our score
8blends checked
3delisted since publication
12 Auglast verified

Frequently asked questions

Is Kicking Horse coffee actually organic?
Yes, USDA Organic certified across the range, alongside Fairtrade. Both are audited certifications rather than marketing language, which is what separates this from most supermarket coffee.
Which Kicking Horse blend is best?
Kick Ass for drip and French press, Cliff Hanger for espresso, Three Sisters if you find dark roasts too heavy. Matching the blend to the brew method matters more here than the brand’s own descriptions suggest.
Why is there no origin on the bag?
Because the blends are built for consistency rather than traceability, so the component origins shift with the market. It is not dishonest, but it does mean you are buying a taste profile rather than a coffee.
Whole bean or ground?
Whole bean if you own a grinder — ground coffee loses the CO₂ that builds crema within days. Several Kicking Horse blends, including Kick Ass at 10 oz, are ground only.
The verdict

A certification you can trust, on a coffee you cannot trace

Kicking Horse does the hard, expensive things — organic and Fairtrade audits, a roast date on every bag — and none of the cheap ones, like telling you how the coffee was processed. At supermarket prices that is a fair exchange. Buy Cliff Hanger if you pull shots and Kick Ass if you do not.

Spotted something off? We would rather know. Tell us about this page